Demera Restaurant

(11 reviews)
Restaurant
  • 4801 N. BROADWAY STREET, CHICAGO, IL 60640 USA
Claim Listing

Company Description

Demera’s owner, Tigist Reda, was born and raised in Ethiopia and has lived in Chicago for the past 20(+) years. She learned the secrets of traditional Ethiopian cuisine from the elder women in her family, by helping them to prepare family meals and banquets.

Review & Rating

Kaleigh Gaffney
Kaleigh Gaffney
5
2 days ago

Came here for dinner a few nights ago. We were seated immediately and got our food within about 10 minutes of ordering! Great selection of vegetarian options and large portions. We ordered the vegetarian for two and couldn’t finish it. Highly recommend and would definitely go back!

Ranveer Malhotra
Ranveer Malhotra
5
2 days ago

Nice place for Ethiopian food. Good portions and good flavors. Service was very good!

Scott Sachnoff
Scott Sachnoff
5
2 days ago

Delicious mixtures of flavors in the 3 meat and 3 veggie sides we had. Prompt service even on a busy Saturday night. Try the Xingu dark Brazilian (?) Beer

Free Radical
Free Radical
3
2 days ago

Demera is always good. Lalibela was way better, but they closed. Demera is becoming less and less authentic as time goes on, but I guess that's what happens when you "make the big leagues."

Chelsea Lux
Chelsea Lux
5
2 days ago

Fantastic place! Went here on a date and had a really good time. The food is amazing and the atmosphere is perfect! It does get crowded fast, so I recommend making a reservation if you want to go there during the weekend.

Noah Schneider
Noah Schneider
5
2 days ago

A wonderful introduction to Ethiopian food you eat with a flat bread & your hands! Their vegetarian dishes are flavored so we'll you'll be shocked they're not meat. One of my fav spots in the city!

Samuel Waggoner
Samuel Waggoner
5
2 days ago

Prior to visiting, we checked all reviews for the large selection of Ethiopian restaurants in Chicago. We know about Ethiopian food so we read the reviews with wise eyes. Finally picked Demera. JACKPOT! A PERFECT score on all levels. Restaurant is serene, wait staff polite, friendly, helpful. Food was authentic. Translation: OUT of this WORLD awesome. Full of fabulous flavor, texture . Find a way to eat at this wonderful Ethiopian restaurant. Stop with the dumb American burger and explore a new culture. It will knock your socks off.

Manjit Stanton
Manjit Stanton
5
2 days ago

Demera's restaurant was a fantastic place to enjoy our first taste of Ethiopian cuisine- the food was amazing! There was a wide range of delicious food to try as well as the beverages. We had reserved a table for a group of 9 people and the staff were very polite. Next time we visit Chicago, we will definitley be popping in again ☺

Sara Guzman
Sara Guzman
4
2 days ago

Besides coffee served in a tiny cup the food was good. If you've never had Ethiopian food I'd suggest going for the beef and chicken dishes. Reason is vegetarian dishes including the bread have a sour taste to them which is not necessarily a bad thing. Enjoy!!

Dave Johnson
Dave Johnson
5
2 days ago

This was my first time here. Went with an Ethiopian friend and was blown away with the food. Amazing flavors and you get to eat with your hands. So much fun, I will be back.

Christopher Godwin
Christopher Godwin
5
2 days ago

Highly recommend this place. Went on a Sunday afternoon and it was very slow so service was great. Ordered the meal for 2 that included 3 meat selections and 3 veggie selections! All of it was delicious and was more than enough, so much so that we had plenty of left overs to enjoy later. Would definitely come back!



People Also View

  • Habesha Restaurant
    0.5
    11 reviews
  • Awash Ethiopian Restaurant
    0.5
    11 reviews
  • Demera Restaurant
    0.4
    11 reviews
  • Habesha Ethiopian Restaurant and Bar
    0.5
    10 reviews
  • Bahel Ethiopian Resturant
    0.5
    10 reviews