Japanese Hair Stylist Taka

Japanese Hair Stylist Taka

(10 reviews)
#93 in USA #40 in Boston
Hair Salons
  • 629 Commonwealth Avenue, Boston, MA 02215
Claim Listing

Company Description

Cash only. Appointment only.(予約制)

Review & Rating

Ashley Qu
Ashley Qu
5
2 days ago

Taka is knowledgeable about Asian hair (including taming thicker hair). He fixed a terrible haircut, and he has been cutting my hair since then. His prices are reasonable for the quality of the cuts. My hair maintains its shape for several months! He is also very easy and fun to talk to. Please note that scheduling appointments can take up to two weeks, unless there's last-minute cancellations.

B C
B C
5
2 days ago

Taka is a meticulous hairstylist. He takes time to listen to my hairstyling needs and uses a variety of techniques which shows his extensive knowledge and experience. I always receive compliments from friends and colleagues after I have an appointment with Taka. Highly recommend!

Henry Liu
Henry Liu
1
2 days ago

I went to Taka because of the reviews here. I was mislead. I have never seen such hesitation I witnessed in haircutting from any barber before, and he appeared unsure how to even cut hair properly. I showed him pictures of the cut I wanted from my previous cut, and he then stated how he was treating himself to a beer after my cut (which actually isn't very hard; buzzcut #2 up and #1.5 or #1 for fade). And not only that, he left observable dents on the short sides where he used scissors instead of a buzz cutter, which every single barber before him has used. For a truly subpar haircut, he charged a whopping $60 in cash, for the most expensive cut in my life. I am afraid to think what may have happened if I didn't somehow have so much cash in hand at the moment. Horrible. Don't go, it's not worth the time and money.

Tanya Gabrielian
Tanya Gabrielian
1
2 days ago

The only thing I can say that is complimentary is that he didn't charge me for the haircut, which was considerate of the circumstances. I had had a bad haircut in my neighborhood that left the front layers completely asymmetrical. Perhaps Taka specialized in high art haircuts and I am totally misunderstanding him--however, all I wanted to get was a trim and to make the front symmetrical--I have long hair with absolutely nothing special about it at all. He stared at me in deep thought, washed my hair, and then dried it, without using a brush and untangling painfully with just his hands, said nothing more and didn't cut a single hair for 50 minutes. I was unaware that I was supposed to block off an indefinite amount of time for him. Then he announced that I had to cut my hair short, which was quite the opposite from what I had asked or intended. When he realized that I was in a rush, I was scolded for rushing him, and he proceeded to cut my hair with a technique I have never seen or experienced ever, cutting just a few hairs at a time with great painstaking effort. After an hour and 40 minutes, didn't have the time or patience for this any process any longer, ended the session, and was left with completely uneven layers at the front. Graciously, he didn't charge me, but if I could repeat the process again, I definitely would have avoided the experience altogether.

Ivy Duan
Ivy Duan
5
2 days ago

Always pleasant. Tried different styles and Taka did great job on each visit.

Masaya Ando
Masaya Ando
5
2 days ago

Great service. Taka is a skilled a hair stylist from Japan. He’s a also a funny guy. My go-to guy. Highly recommend.

Marion Ma
Marion Ma
5
2 days ago

After too many bad experiences at mall salons, my friend said we should go somewhere where they know how to treat Asian hair correctly. No matter what hairstyle I choose, it always looks good. I've sent pictures to friends and they called it anime hair, because the way it falls in a ponytail or when it's down just looks fabulous. I highly recommend going here because it is worth the money!

Leo W
Leo W
5
2 days ago

Taka is probably the best hair stylist in boston. He is extremely focused, attentive, and patient, and will take however long is needed to ensure the job is done correctly. He is also extremely flexible and super humble. If you'd like to cut dry, wet, shampoo or not, he is always willing to listen to your preference. Bring your favorite photo and he is able to replicate. You don't really find many stylist these days who are talented but humble. Taka is one of them!

Naoko T
Naoko T
5
2 days ago

Taka gave me a great haircut! He took time and care. I have thick, straight hair, so I always have a hard time finding hair stylists who are used to Asian hair. I'm glad I found a perfect hair stylist in Boston.

Nami Nagaoka
Nami Nagaoka
5
2 days ago

I’ve always wanted to visit this place after seeing all the reviews on this salon. Taka is such a sweet person. Taka has great knowledge and experiences in haircut. He made my day. He knows what beauty is. That's what I wanna say above;)! I walked in the store without a reservation on Sunday afternoon. Of course he was busy…until 8p.m..(The business hour was 10a.m.- 7p.m.) He told me he told me to come back around 8 or later if I want. (I was like….YES!!!!!) I came back to the salon later and he was still taking care of the previous customer. “It will take a bit longer..,” “Is the room temperature okay?”.... He was spending so much dedication to the previous customer, and still treat the customer with hospitality who walked in two hour after business hours. (...that’s me...lol) I already liked my hair style and I asked him to make me look prettier. ....That was amazing! He definitely made my day! Other hair salons make pretty hairstyle by curling it or straighting it. But Taka wasn’t!! It looks natural beauty without curling it. As soon as I met my friend that night, she was like “You look different? I mean you look prettier somehow. Did you do something?” I was like……”YES!!” Taka definitely knows how to maximize your beauty with hairstyle!! I barely see that type of hairstylist in the U.S. I definitely recommend this place if you want to experience that;)! Long story short: I highly recommend this place, and I would even just stop by there to see who Taka is. He is such a sweet person. Thanks Taka for making my day!;)



People also viewed

  • Red Stella Hair Salon
    10 reviews
  • Preslee Hair Style
    10 reviews
  • Madison Hair Styling
    10 reviews
  • Japanese Hair Stylist Taka
    10 reviews
  • Carmen's Hair Styles
    6 reviews
  • Cost Cutters Hair Salon
  • DashStylists
  • Hair Benders Salon
  • Fresh Hair Studio
  • Chemistry Hair Salon