Bohemian Spirit Restaurant

Bohemian Spirit Restaurant

(10 reviews)
#95 in USA #33 in New York
Restaurant
  • 321 E 73rd St, New York, NY 10021, United States
Claim Listing

Company Description

Welcome to a traditional Czech restaurant located at the landmarked Bohemian National Hall. We are committed to represent the best of what typical Czech cuisine has to offer. A combination of high quality foods offered at sensible prices aims to bring gastronomic knowledge of Central Europe to everyone.

Review & Rating

Luke Matarazzo
Luke Matarazzo
5
2 days ago

Had a fantastic dinner here eating true Czech food that has maybe been a little Americanized. Also had Pilsner Urquell on tap and poured right (with a healthy head). They also poured us a half light half dark glass of beer, another favorite of ours. Service was good. I loved the 60s-80s music playing as well. Great place! The svíčková was delicious. The steak tartare was excellent. I enjoyed the goulash entree. And the fruit dumplings were pretty good. I was happy with everything we ordered. When I say the food may be a little Americanized it's because the svíčková came with the meat completely submerged in sauce whereas I remember the meat being on top of the sauce. That's just my take on it.

Naomi Perley
Naomi Perley
1
2 days ago

the “beef stew” that this establishment calls goulash does not in any way resemble real goulash. they serve it with extremely sad “bread dumplings” that resemble an undercooked loaf of Italian bread out of the freezer. additionally, the service is downright amateurish - I started writing this review after my husband and I finished eating, ran out of small talk, I had gone to the washroom and come back, and our waitress still hadn’t cleared our plates, let alone brought the cheque.

Douglas Yriart
Douglas Yriart
5
2 days ago

Great find. Authentic Czech food. Cheerful atmosphere. Good service, a bit slow when busy.

Vladimír Vacek
Vladimír Vacek
5
2 days ago

The food was exquisite and the prices are reasonable. Atmosphere is nice and cozy. Ordered Svíčková and sadly enough it set a standard my mother back home can't hope to compare to. Also the Pilsen beer tastes almost the same as in the Czech Republic

Petr Ropek
Petr Ropek
5
2 days ago

I strongly recommend this restaurant. The food is really good and the owner is an amazing communicative person. Kitchen is very clean as you can see on your way to the restroom, and food ? Food is DELICIOUS. I will always stop by when I’m in NYC, Especially for their Svickova and Tartar which is my favorite. You won’t find better Svickova than in Bohemian Spirit.

Loren Hemingway
Loren Hemingway
5
2 days ago

Great atmosphere! You know it's good Czech food when you are literally the only people not speaking Czech. Delicious homemade cherry soda!

EasierESL
EasierESL
4
2 days ago

Agree with all comments about the warm, friendly authentic atmosphere and food. All 6 of us very satisfied with first visit here last night. Enjoyed tasty goulash & real Czech beer, & two members of our party were Czech-Americans. Waitress Nancy was also a pleasure, esp with easily splitting our bill 3 ways. Overall, a thoroughly enjoyable, homey, relaxing surprise of a place.

Neil Yriart
Neil Yriart
4
2 days ago

Great food, but we were in when they were swamped. They warned us that service would be slow when we ordered and they did their best to keep us happy while we waited. I'd definitely go back.

Ir Sed
Ir Sed
2
2 days ago

We visited your restaurant last weekend. We have been very excited specially when the Czech speaking blond hair waitress came to our table. I tried to friendly communicate with her, but after a few attempts I gave up. This lady how we watched her serving to other tables is actually creating unfriendly atmosphere. We left always generous gratuity in restaurants for their hard work but she got only 15%. The three waitresses have been busy talking together. Food was ok but not perfect Two stars for the atmosphere

Peter Dunn
Peter Dunn
4
2 days ago

Very good Czech food in a space that has housed many prior Czech restaurants over the year. It is a lovely space in the Czech consulate. Unlike other reviewers I have never seen or spoken to the owner tho I’ve gone there about 10 times in 2019. Just two waitresses almost always looking overworked. The servers are fine but of course they leave you on your own and if you are not w interesting company of your own it is a lonely place to eat. Also for some reason they have only 3 choices of beer. My own favorites to eat are the schnitzel, the steak tartare and the cucumber salad. During the day, Prior to 5, it is a work space for people without offices.



People also viewed

  • Czech Plaza Restaurant
    12 reviews
  • Koliba Restaurant
    11 reviews
  • La Trattoria Bohemia
    11 reviews
  • Bohemian Spirit Restaurant
    10 reviews
  • Josie's Dumplings
    7 reviews