Penny Lane Studios

(10 reviews)
Hair Salons
  • 2658 N. Sawyer Ave., Chicago, IL 60647
Claim Listing

Company Description

Penny Lane has been named the Chicago Reader's Best of Chicago Salon 2019! Thank you to all of our amazing clients and to everyone who voted. Check us out on page 11 and 22 of this issue of the Chicago Reader!

Review & Rating

Mark Lauber
Mark Lauber
5
2 days ago

My wife and I drive 10 miles from the suburbs into the city to get our hair cut here. There's water, wine and beer at reception. My wife has curly hair and they do an incredible job of cutting and styling it (If you have curly hair and you haven't been to a salon that specializes in curly cuts, you absolutely have to try this place). I'm pretty picky about my hair and have been through a lot of salons and barber shops that can't compete with this place. In case you're wondering, I always give a new place two or four tries before deciding if I like it or want to stay; hair can be a tricky and personal thing, so I think it makes sense to give they stylist or barber a couple attempts to understand what you want. At any rate, I've been going to Penny lane for over a year and it's easily the best I've been to in Chicago.

Doreen Sayegh
Doreen Sayegh
5
2 days ago

Penny Lane is the best! Jonathan is amazing, and always makes the ideas I have about my hair even better. The whole team is really lovely and make you feel at home.

Nancy A.
Nancy A.
4
2 days ago

I live in the neighborhood and I always walk by this place but never walked in because their chairs are always full. It's a good clean place. Maybe when I pass by and its empty I'll get my hair done.

crystal valdez
crystal valdez
5
2 days ago

Curly girls absolutley need to try the deva cut and deva curl products. Total game changer. Alexa listens to your issues and wants and individualizes the process to fit

Sabrina Mc
Sabrina Mc
2
2 days ago

Had a layer cut into the bottom of my mid-back length hair that looks like 8 month's of growth on an forgotten undercut. Tried to rationalize with myself for a week and went in to speak with the owner, who kind of apologized and gave me conditioner samples like that was going to fix it? Really disappointing all around.

Sierra Waller
Sierra Waller
5
2 days ago

I have been to penny lane twice and my curls are more defined and healthier than they ever have been. Laura is a curl wizard and I couldn’t be happier with the results. Highly recommend if you are looking for a salon to help you transition to the curly girl method!! First photo is after 2 visits to penny lane.

Gretchen Gall
Gretchen Gall
5
2 days ago

I am so happy that I finally found a place that helped me with how to handle my hair. Took a funky frizz to curly hair. I will follow Coral to the end of the earth...

Mady Scolnick
Mady Scolnick
5
2 days ago

To my fellow curly haired brethren, this salon is worth ALL the hype. I've been getting my haircut by Jon since moving to Chicago and my curls have never looked so good. They handle your hair with such care, each cut and styling method truly is personalized. They have various tiers of stylists with different levels of experience and curly expertise.

Erica Rodriguez
Erica Rodriguez
5
2 days ago

Many compliments on my cut by Alexa. She is worth the wait!

Meaghan Pelissier
Meaghan Pelissier
5
2 days ago

Loved my experience here!! The staff is great, the environment is awesome, and I got an amazing haircut! I got my very first Devacut and I LOVE it!! My stylist walked me through every part of it, but we also talk about products, my routine, what I can do to make my curls better, what to stay away from. It was just an amazing experience!! I can't wait to go back!!



People Also View

  • DeWeese Design Salon
    0.5
    10 reviews
  • Le Petit Salon Curl Concept
    0.5
    10 reviews
  • Penny Lane Studios
    0.5
    10 reviews
  • Planet Curls
    0.4
    10 reviews
  • Salon Red Kids
    0.5
    9 reviews