Academy of Art University

(10 reviews)
Online Courses
  • 79 New Montgomery St., San Francisco, CA 94105
Claim Listing

Company Description

For nearly 90 years, artists and designers have called Academy of Art University their home. Founded in San Francisco and family owned since 1929, it is the largest private art and design university in the nation.We are first and foremost a professional school—a specialized place that helps you master your craft as you prepare for professional roles as artists and designers. Our hands-on, no-nonsense curriculum is taught by some of the finest minds working in today’s creative and innovative industries. They will help you develop your talent and acquire skills sought by the creative marketplace.

Review & Rating

Michael Tyler
Michael Tyler
5
2 days ago

I am on my first semester at AAU, it is amazing and a lot of fun. You learn a lot from the program, I would recommend AAU to anyone wanting to do Game Development.

Britton Rogers
Britton Rogers
5
2 days ago

I love this school I've been trying for 4yrs to get into a school and I was about to give up when I remembered I had inquired about AAU a while ago and looked back into it. I am so happy to be attending this school online there classes are great and I've loved my instructors so far and can't wait to graduate in a few years. This school saved my dreams from being forgotten.

Camille Lenise Carnes
Camille Lenise Carnes
3
2 days ago

It's a really good school, you have to be dedicated to do well and get good marks. It's not easy (as everything shouldn't be that easy), it's challenging and you have to put in the work. The professors are good, although some were better than others. I'm a fashion design major and although I've noticed that I became a better designer and my work has grown A LOT, I still have a long way to go and I really am excited for this semester to help me. BUT, the only problem I have and the reason why it's three stars...it's so expensive, like I want to graduate but the cost is way to much and I could only afford a certain amount of classes at a time. It's just crazy!

Olivia Rocquemore
Olivia Rocquemore
4
2 days ago

If you're looking to be pushed and built into a success within your field, AAU is for you! Just make sure you're extremely dedicated and willing to work for your dream and you'll do well. With amazing professors who currently work in their industry, you'll get industry knowledge, all while learning to appreciate the minor details!

Greg Art
Greg Art
1
2 days ago

Consider going to another school, don't take my word for it look it up and other places outside of AAU pages. Look it up on yelp and google, their score is 2 out of 5 stars and all the complaints are similar.

Larry Webster
Larry Webster
1
2 days ago

Horrible service...signed my daughter up for the virtual open house today but never received any information on where to watch or anything!! Called the schol numerous times and nobody could give me ANY information on the event. They even tried several extensions and could not even reach ANY staff involved in the event. And I am supposed to entrust this school with my daughters education. If they can't even manage an online event properly? Very disappointed. As someone who has worked in film for over 20 years, I expected more professionalism from an institution like this..

Mady Kiefer
Mady Kiefer
1
2 days ago

wasted my time for the past two months telling me that to finish my associates degree was going to cost roughly about 24,000$/ year. then all of the sudden i am getting told 15 days before that it is going cost 83,000$ to finish my degree for the next 2 years. no one should have to pay that much. ridiculous.

Virginia Schenck
Virginia Schenck
5
2 days ago

We are very excited about our son's opportunities after visiting ArtU. I am a mom, and I get all choked up about the thought of our son leaving for school...but not after this visit. I believe this is a fantastic place for our son's next step in life and beyond.

Wakahisa Yoshiro
Wakahisa Yoshiro
5
2 days ago

The best art training ever but that also translates to the toughest. If you want to go here I won't tell you "yes" or "no", instead I'll say "Only if you're willing to give it 110% of your effort." Even students who come in with high levels of skill are challenged by the first semester foundations classes.

Silvia Gray
Silvia Gray
4
2 days ago

This is a good school of you are willing to work for it. People keep talking about the low graduation rate, and that's because it's 100% acceptance rate for undergrad. So of course graduation rate will be low. The Graduate program for art history is great. The professors are in constant communication with me, and I've learned a lot about my field. It's not for someone thinking they can pass it on a whim. I have not had a problem with my recruiters or financial aid either, and they have been accommodating. Over all,good school. But again. Really depends on your mentality going in.



People Also View

  • Otis College of Art and Design
    0.2
    20 reviews
  • Alis Fashion Design LLC
    0.5
    11 reviews
  • Austin School Of Fashion Design
    0.5
    10 reviews
  • Maryland Institute College of Art
    0.5
    10 reviews
  • Georgia Institute of Technology
    0.5
    10 reviews
  • Fashion Institute of South Florida
    0.5
    10 reviews
  • Minneapolis College of Art and Design
    0.4
    11 reviews
  • Fashion Institute of Technology
    0.4
    10 reviews
  • Beverly Hills Design Institute
    0.6
    9 reviews
  • Platt College San Diego
    0.4
    10 reviews