Almar Furs.

(10 reviews)
Wedding Gown Preservation
  • 10435 Burnet Rd., Ste 109, Austin, TX 78758
Claim Listing

Company Description

For you, the fashion-minded customer with a thing for fur, you are in good company. We have been assisting customers since the 1970s with all of their fur needs. At our store, all fur garments have been hand-selected by Al and MaryAnn Freidin. We feel we have done Austin proud with our new collection of hand-crafted furs.

Review & Rating

Jill G.
Jill G.
1
2 days ago

I went to pick up my fur from storage on Tuesday, November 11th. They couldn't find it and said they would look and call. I called on Thursday after no return call; still had not been found (the owner said they were looking and would call me as soon as they found it). Called on Saturday (again, no follow-up from Almar Furs), the gentleman said that they had been so busy, they had not had time to look. He promised they would stay after closing to search. Finally a call back on Saturday evening...my fur coat was lost! I was told they would be calling their insurance company and get back to me. It is Tuesday, the 18th; not one word from Almar Furs. So, I called on Wednesday at 3:00. Al said he spoke to his insurance company that morning (note: he did not call me). He had "great" news...they were going to make me a new coat! I told him I didn't want him to make me a coat; I had no trust in him and no longer wanted to do any business with him. I asked for the value of the coat. He said "no", that he was only liable for $150 and his offer was very "generous" and final. I plan to take him to small claims court.

Alison Harrington
Alison Harrington
5
2 days ago

I was leery about leaving my mink coat with Almar Furs for an extensive repair after reading the review about the lost jacket. They came highly recommended by someone I had talked to, so I took my coat in. When I mentioned the bad review, they were very open about it and convinced me that it had never happened before. I decided to leave my coat with them for repairs and cleaning. I was impressed with their professionalism and friendliness, plus they did an exceptional job. Their shop was full of gorgeous furs as well! I highly recommend Almar for any fur issues anyone may have.

Caitlin Carter
Caitlin Carter
1
2 days ago

Took a pair of brand new suede pants to them to remove two stains. I know this might be tricky, but they said they knew what they were doing. Pants came back completely ruined. Used to be one color, now the pants have two different colors. Suede nap destroyed. If their suede cleaner felt they couldn't handle it then they should have contacted me, and I would have taken them back. Avoid this place. Not reputable, if they were then they would not have charged me after ruining my pants.

Jill Schultz
Jill Schultz
1
2 days ago

On March 31, 2015, they found my lost coat. They had placed a full length coat over it, on the same hanger. The owner did offer three years of free storage and cleaning. I have decided to have my fur stored elsewhere.

Robert Stebbins
Robert Stebbins
5
2 days ago

Fast and experienced service. Had my wife's. Fur repaired by a friendly staff.

Rebekah Olivarez
Rebekah Olivarez
5
2 days ago

I have known Al since 1981 when we purchased my very first mink coat from him in Dallas. He was great then and is greater today! HE is the most trusted name when it comes to FURS! My coat looks the same today as it did the day I bought it in 1994 thanks to the wonderful superior care it receives when stored with Al and Maryann!

Mad Tart
Mad Tart
5
2 days ago

Almar provided excellent care at a very reasonable price. I took in a family heirloom that had not received proper care and was put at ease about the process and what I could expect back. No false promises were given and I was thrilled with the results.

Carrie La Tour
Carrie La Tour
5
2 days ago

Excellent experience...customer service is outstanding! They really know what they are doing.

Pat Mitchell
Pat Mitchell
5
2 days ago

Furs looked terrific after they were conditioned! Thank you guys! Will definitely bring my remaining jackets.

Georgeanne Freeman
Georgeanne Freeman
5
2 days ago

Lee stores my furs & conditions them for the past few winters. I trust him, the furs are kept in great shape & he is nice. I will continue doing business here and highly recommend them. I couldn’t help but notice their beautiful hat selection this year !



People Also View

  • Almar Furs.
    0.4
    10 reviews
  • Jonval Leather
    0.4
    9 reviews
  • Andriana Furs
    0.8
    6 reviews
  • Madison Ave Furs & Henry Cowit, Inc.
    1
    5 reviews
  • Holloway Furs
    1.2
    4 reviews
  • WFC Wolverine Fur Company
    1.2
    4 reviews
  • Alaskan Fur Company
    1.7
    3 reviews
  • Helen Frushtick Furs
    0.8
    4 reviews
  • David Appel
    2.5
    2 reviews
  • Sword Furs
    2.5
    2 reviews