Chicago's Premier Piano Store

(8 reviews)
Piano Dealers
  • 900 N. Michigan Ave, 6th Floor, 6C Chicago, IL 60611
Claim Listing

Company Description

PianoForte Chicago was started with the idea of promoting and making available the line of Fazioli pianos to the discerning public but quickly grew into a piano store with a wide range of instruments and piano-related services including accessories, recording, rentals, student performances, and lessons. Since its inception, PianoForte has evolved into a specialized piano boutique with a focus on selecting fine instruments at various price levels.

Review & Rating

David Bruton
David Bruton
5
2 days ago

Very beautiful performance room! Checkout my pictures.

Patricia Kosar
Patricia Kosar
5
2 days ago

Jack Zimmerman and jazz, a can't miss combo.

Bernard Conroy
Bernard Conroy
5
2 days ago

PianoForte Chicago conveniently located at 1335 S Michigan Ave sells a variety of excellent pianos for performers and students as well as having two floors of performing stages and also rooms for student lessons. Under the guidance of the DirectorThomas Zoells an interesting variety of numerous concerts are given year around by talented, creative performers. I have always very much enjoyed the performances and appreciated the artistry of the performers of the concerts I have attended and very much recommend them to others to attend and enjoy the wonderful live performances.

Jonathon Huff
Jonathon Huff
5
2 days ago

If you're in the market for a nice grand piano, give this place a stop. The owner is quite kind and knowledgeable.

Kanika Sachdev
Kanika Sachdev
5
2 days ago

Kanika Sachdev

Tommy Reyes
Tommy Reyes
3
2 days ago

It's like a trump dollar store.

Michelle Woodbury
Michelle Woodbury
5
2 days ago

Wonderful service and selection. Staff are very friendly and personable! Come here if you are looking for a piano as they have quite the selection. On sixth floor across from the four seasons.

Kevin Spangelo
Kevin Spangelo
1
2 days ago

I was in Chicago to see a show and made it a point to walk up here from the theatre after reading about the store online and was woefully disappointed. For a firm that is supposed to be a dealer for one of the preeminent instruments in the world, the selection of instruments in the store was worthless, and the lady working that evening, while kind, was not knowledgeable of even the basics on the instruments. I'm not sure if everything in the store was rebuilt/reconditioned, but every instrument I played had some technical issue, including one with dampers that continued to let the strings ring for several seconds after releasing the key/pedal. For instruments being sold in the $100k range, I expect an action that functions properly and voicing that is more even. There was only 1 instrument in the showroom from the manufacturer touted on their website, and it was covered behind ropes Even after demonstrating an ability to play and a knowledge of the instruments, it was not offered as an instrument to try. While the lady working the store that evening was pleasant, I found myself telling her about the instruments she was selling. Her only contributions to the conversation were telling me info printed on a small tag on each instrument that I could read myself (manufacturer, year, model, price), and basically saying "This one sounds pretty." When I mentioned a common model number for their top brand, she mixed it up with another of a completely different size. A friend I took with me who has no knowledge of pianos even remarked to me that the salesperson had no idea what she was selling. My experience probably would have been different if I had spoken with the proprietor, but personally I don't think I would make a trip back to this dealer to purchase an instrument.



People Also View

  • England Piano
    0.5
    11 reviews
  • Germantown Factory Showroom
    0.4
    11 reviews
  • The Piano Shop
    0.5
    10 reviews
  • Jasons Music Center and Piano Showroom
    0.5
    10 reviews
  • Capital Music Center
    0.5
    10 reviews
  • Collora Piano
    0.5
    10 reviews
  • Steinway Piano
    0.7
    7 reviews
  • Chicago's Premier Piano Store
    0.5
    8 reviews
  • Joyce Piano
    1.3
    3 reviews
  • Roland
    1.2
    3 reviews