Spelman College

(10 reviews)
Arts, Law, Languages & Teaching
  • 350 Spelman Lane S.W., Atlanta, GA 30314-4399
Claim Listing

Company Description

Founded in 1881 as the Atlanta Baptist Female Seminary, we became Spelman College in 1924. Now a global leader in the education of women of African descent, Spelman College is accredited by the Southern Association of Colleges and Schools Commission on Colleges and we are proud members of the Atlanta University Center Consortium.

Review & Rating

Michele White Cherry
Michele White Cherry
5
2 days ago

I am absolutely amazed at my first visit to Spelman. I wasn't expected to be awed but I was on so many levels. The historical knowledge that the student tour guides provided was beyond measure! Thank you Robin and Brooke for spending your time and welcoming my daughter to the Spelman campus!

Kiera Crite
Kiera Crite
5
2 days ago

This was the best experience of my life! I will forever be grateful to Spelman for showing me how to use my potential and gifts to be the best person I can be!

Antoine Bluford
Antoine Bluford
5
2 days ago

It's a very historic women college. Waiting to hear more from them on dating in 2018..I hate it when I don't have a new car and wife to drop my daughter off for spring classes.

Marva L Collins
Marva L Collins
5
2 days ago

My daughter attended this school and she got an excellent education and Dr. Cole showed her a lot of love during her time there.

Kira Thurman
Kira Thurman
5
2 days ago

I spent this summer researching at Spelman College's archives. I'm a German historian interested in African American musicians who traveled to Europe, and I couldn't believe the amount of material I found. I would like to thank Holly Smith and Kassandra Ware especially for using their expert knowledge to direct me to materials I hadn't even considered. By pointing me to the Josephine Harreld Love collection, Ms. Ware opened up a whole world of primary sources to me. These were some of the best finds of my career. I got goosebumps reading through Kemper Harreld's personal diary as he traveled through Germany in the postwar period and attended concerts at the famous Bayreuth Festival Opera House and the Salzburg Festival. My book project (forthcoming) has been made better by my time at Spelman College's archives. There's a huge wealth of material here that's been expertly arranged and catalogued for historians and researchers to use. I found concert programs, letters, diaries, newspaper articles, and other materials that would have been impossible for me to find without the existence of Spelman's archive and without Ms. Ware and Ms. Smith's expertise. I am so thankful and grateful to them and to Spelman for giving me the opportunity to enrich my understanding of German-American history in the 20th century.

TanTan Stephens
TanTan Stephens
5
2 days ago

Spelman College is a good positive environment that give black women the opportunity to thrive while achieving their educational goals.

Cheryl Claiborne-Knox
Cheryl Claiborne-Knox
5
2 days ago

My daughter and I visited Spelman last March during their HS Junior Preview Day! We were both so overwhelmed with the history and the culture of such a wonderful institution! To see so many intelligent, beautiful African American women in a collegiate environment that promoted sisterhood and mutual respect, was so refreshing. To both my daughter and me, the campus felt like a safe and nurturing place. This was extremely important given that Spelman is approximately 750 miles from our home in PA.

Hannah Booker
Hannah Booker
5
2 days ago

Excellent experience for my daughter and family. Thank you to the alumni ��� faculty members and staff.

Purvis J. Hatcher
Purvis J. Hatcher
5
2 days ago

It's the spirit of this place that won my heart and made me comfortable leaving my daughter and not worry if she is safe. I met a awesome staff member in the Cafeteria and she walks up to me and said..... Dad don't worry about a thing .......... I'm always praying for these girls ........ they gonna be safe..... the one thing that my wife and I can't figure out is how can they hire that many nice, warm, polite, sweet people in one place.......... I felt a since of ownership walking the grounds.... I felt like my people have something great and my daughter is now part of this awesome sisterhood........ I can go on and on but I love this place. I love the spirit that rest on this place.

Yvette Forehand
Yvette Forehand
5
2 days ago

I'm proud to say that my Niece Nia Haynes will be graduating with the Class of 2018! So proud of her and the fact that she will be a part of the Spelman Legacy.



People Also View

  • University of California, Berkeley
    0.4
    11 reviews
  • Agnes Scott College
    0.5
    10 reviews
  • Spelman College
    0.5
    10 reviews
  • Georgia Institute of Technology
    0.5
    10 reviews
  • St. Edward’s University
    0.5
    10 reviews
  • LOYOLA UNIVERSITY CHICAGO
    0.4
    11 reviews
  • University of Central Florida
    0.4
    10 reviews
  • Minerva Schools
    0.7
    7 reviews
  • Clic Montreal
  • Atlanta Technical College
    0.2
    12 reviews