African Grill and Bar

(10 reviews)
Restaurant
  • 955 S KIPLING PARKWAY, LAKEWOOD, CO 80226 USA
Claim Listing

Company Description

Our restaurant is available for private events: weddings, business lunches, dinners, cocktail receptions, and more. We would love to discuss how to be a part of your next event.

Review & Rating

Celia Curtis
Celia Curtis
4
2 days ago

Terrific food, everything rich in flavor. Would advise anyone with an adventurous palate, but not the finicky. Adwoa was a perfect hostess and made us feel at home. We had beef and goat dishes, one spicy, one not, which came at her recommendation..... delicious! A bit of sticker shock though.

Gloria Nunes
Gloria Nunes
5
2 days ago

Tonight was a spontaneous and our first time at African bar and grille. This family owned and ran establishment is the best authentic food I've had since coming to Denver. Can't wait to to go back for music on December 21 and oxtails! Thank you for a great experience!

Landon Parson
Landon Parson
5
2 days ago

Amazing! Everything we tried was delicious, very flavorful dishes. Friendly and welcoming service. Highly recommend. Looking forward to our next visits. Go there now, you won't regret it.

Ryan Rossell
Ryan Rossell
4
2 days ago

Really good food! I had the lamb plantain dish. Very friendly staff. I wish the portions were a little bigger but where else can one find this kind of unique food in the Midwest. It's authentic African. Extremely flavorful!

Rhianna Lallas
Rhianna Lallas
5
2 days ago

I went here for my 19th birthday and it was terrific!! The service was fantastic and the owner made you feel at home. My family had a family style dinner where were able to try many of their dishes and all of the dishes were superb!! Every dish had the perfect amount of spice and flavor and we're cooked perfectly. My favorite dish was the tomato stew with the goat and my favorite side was the chickpeas. Thank you so much for this wonderful night!!

Theresa Cashman
Theresa Cashman
5
2 days ago

LOVE the flavors of these dishes! (a bit salty for my taste, but delicious nonetheless!) Our server was kind enough to help me order off an unfamiliar menu with ease. Thanks all!

Lovin2 Dance
Lovin2 Dance
5
2 days ago

This place has incredible food! My fiance & I were looking to try out a new fun place to eat for New Year's Eve & found this restaurant with authentic African cuisine. The coffee and food were so delicious! We would highly recommend!!

cmgeolo
cmgeolo
5
2 days ago

Had an awesome time here. Very relaxed and welcoming. Extremely clean restaurant. Food was awesome. I had the groundnut stew with goat and plantains. Solid choice. Price was a bit high but it came with a ton of meat.. I can put away food and I was very full after. There was talk of African drummers coming in once a month. I'll definitely check that out.

John Wishart
John Wishart
5
2 days ago

This place is fantastic! I said I hadn't been there before and the hostess asked what kind of meat I preferred, and how spicy. I said spicy. She asked "Are you sure?" 3 times. Then she said "I'll take care of you. You don't need a menu." She did that for everyone at the table. The flavors were AMAZING! I lost count of how many years I cried from the heat, but I couldn't stop eating. Absolutely delicious. And had a hand made ginger rum something house special that I could see myself sitting on a deck in the summer, with a pitcher of that and I'd be happy the rest of the day. Highly recommended place!

Heather Gutierrez
Heather Gutierrez
5
2 days ago

My husband and I finally got around to trying this semi-new restaurant today for lunch, and left impressed and ready to return again in the near future! We shared the sampler for 2 plate, which consisted of a basket with 2 small meat samosas, some plantains strips, 2 chicken drumsticks, and some very taste flatbread. Next came a plate of yummy rice, with a very tasty cabbage stew and spinach stew. We then topped it off with a fluffy crepe which was reminiscent of thin pancakes, topped with warm chocolate syrup and strawberry slices. The lady owner was VERY friendly and welcoming. There was some very upbeat African music playing in the background and the whole vibe was nice! Will definitely be returning!



People Also View

  • Afrikiko Restaurant
    0.5
    10 reviews
  • African Grill and Bar
    0.5
    10 reviews
  • Grace's African Restaurant
    0.5
    10 reviews
  • Rahama African Restaurant
    0.4
    10 reviews
  • Appioo African Bar & Grill
    0.3
    10 reviews