Capitol City Comedy Club

Capitol City Comedy Club

(10 reviews)
#88 in USA #28 in Austin
Clubs
  • 8120 Research Blvd. #100, Austin, TX 78758
Claim Listing

Company Description

The Capitol City Comedy Club has proudly carried the comedy torch in Austin for over 30 years. Although the name of the club changed from Laff Stop to Capitol City Comedy Club in 1996, the building at 8120 Research Boulevard has presented world-class comedians since its inception in March of 1986.

Review & Rating

Matthew Dailey
Matthew Dailey
4
2 days ago

I really like Cap City Comedy. There aren't many places around town to see comedians, other than the very famous one who go to one of the large venues around town. Cap City brings in all the great mid level preformers, and even some big names. My only issue with the venue is whenever you get free tickets they say they can't be used for a special event and basically every show on the weekends is cosidered a special event. You can pretty much only use the tickets two or three days a month.

Shuvodip Paul
Shuvodip Paul
5
2 days ago

Great Venue. Very low key. They have great comedians come here, who performs intimate sets. The food here is also not bad. I am from Buffalo, so i feel like i have the authority to say, their wings are pretty damn good. Price is also decent ($9.50 ish for 10 wings). There a 2 item minimum per table. I would highly recommend you go to your show 30 minutes ahead to get a good parking spot and a good table. DONOT park behind Cap City, they will 100% tow your car. Park in the plaza cap city is in, there's plenty parking there. If not, park in the plaza across near hobby lobby. The box office is open till 5:30 and then reopens after 6:30( I believe) if you wanna stop by to get buy your tickets and save some $$. Highly recommend.

Mark C
Mark C
5
2 days ago

Thoroughly enjoyed the comedy. The food is good, nothing special, service quicker than you'd expect. Facilities are good but parking can be an issue. Definitely a good way to spend your evening.

Jarred Adams
Jarred Adams
5
2 days ago

I love this place every time I go. There isn't really a bad seat in the house and it's really easy to get a private "reserved" table if you want it. The have a menu and table service for food and drinks. Prices are not bad all the way around (entrance, food, drinks) and the entertainment is always good. I would definitely recommend this place for a good time. If you're in a date, get there early and enjoy the bar and waiting area that is full of private table to sit and talk while having drinks and waiting for your showtime.

Rolando RoRo
Rolando RoRo
5
2 days ago

The pioneer in comedy Cap City Comedy does not disappoint. They have great comedians and an awesome food menu! I would recommend to buy tickets in advance and arrive early.

Jamie Foster
Jamie Foster
4
2 days ago

Great room booking the top comedians at the peak of the comedy boom. Attentive wait staff (replaced damp cocktail napkin with each bev!?) provided excellent service and check drops without disrupting the show (no small feat.) Cafeteria style seating packs the house, but creates challenging sight lines for some guests.

Jeff Natiuk
Jeff Natiuk
5
2 days ago

I've been here four times or so, and every show has been fantastic. Great collage of performers that have been through Cap City over the years, and it's an impressive collection! Their ticket packages are great as well for date nights. We have a corporate night every year there too and it always goes over well.

Nathaniel Winkler
Nathaniel Winkler
4
2 days ago

Do you like to laugh? Do you want to have fun? This is the place. Every time I come I have a good time. The comedians are always funny, or the host is really good about getting the crowd into the mood. The service has always been good even with the large groups. Food that I've had has been on... But the shows are Kate so I'm not there for dinner. Just drink and snacks. It's a good way to hang with friends or for a date night.

Kseniya Polyakova
Kseniya Polyakova
5
2 days ago

Awesome bar area to sit and Mingle before the show. Great setup for the inside of the theater room. The Southwest egg rolls are amazing! And the wait staff was the best, we never had to wait to order a drink they were on top of everything! Will definitely be coming back point!

S. C.
S. C.
5
2 days ago

I LOVE Cap City!!!!! They get great comics and make it affordable for the fans! These are the "real deal" comedians who are worth a heck of a lot more to see....but Cap City brings them to us so that we can enjoy it and not kill our budget. Nice staff, great seating, excellent food. I'm sad that I moved out of state....I'll really miss Cap City 🙁



People also viewed

  • Helium Comedy Club
    11 reviews
  • Comedy Spot Comedy Club
    12 reviews
  • UP Comedy Club
    11 reviews
  • Zingerz Comedy Club
    10 reviews
  • Capitol City Comedy Club
    10 reviews
  • Laughs Comedy Club
    10 reviews
  • Uptown Comedy Corner
    10 reviews
  • The J Spot Comedy Club
    10 reviews
  • Jokesters Comedy Club
    10 reviews
  • Ray Combs Florida Comedy Club
    2 reviews