David Kerr Violin Shop

(10 reviews)
#89 in USA #19 in Portland
Violin Dealers
  • 4451 S.E. 28th Avenue, Portland, OR 97202
Claim Listing

Company Description

Established shop offering (or renting) violins, violas & cellos, plus bows, repairs & restoration. David Kerr opened the violin shop in 1976. Was a founding member of the Portland Baroque Orchestra in 1984. Co-founder of The Luthier's Library.

Review & Rating

Jennifer Servin
Jennifer Servin
5
2 days ago

Helped us so much and was very understand and explaining everything that was going with my brother’s violin. Never felt rushed either.

Joseph Miletta
Joseph Miletta
5
2 days ago

I love David Kerr Violin Shop. The staff are always polite and informative. I come here for everythijg related to my instrument. Well worth the drive.

Not Me
Not Me
5
2 days ago

I rented my first fiddle here and then bought from them as well, the staff have been nothing but helpful and friendly. Great service!

Kevin Tran
Kevin Tran
5
2 days ago

I live pretty far away from Portland so I would have to find the time to go David Kerr whenever I can and the two times that I had been there I was never been disappointed. The first time was when my violin sound post fell off so I had to call in multiple music shops asking how much it would cost to readjust it and they would every time estimate the charge to be around $20, however when I called the people at David Kerrs they said they would do it for free. The second time was when my bridge needed readjustments because it was leaning forward (I was too afraid to do it myself) so I came into their shop and Steve Banchero not only readjusted my bridge, but he also filled me his life time full of knowledge about the violin bridge (on how to handle violin bridges for the next time I need to do it myself) for a complete 10 minutes!!! He would then dedicate a few more minute of his time telling me about the violin sound post and how it brings the violin sound together. There were even a few customers behind waiting to buy something but he took his time to educate me with his years of experience, for free!! All and all I could not be any happier to go to the David Kerr Shop. I always feel like they treat their customers like family. I will definitely be back in the future to upgrade my violin.

shaun barrett
shaun barrett
4
2 days ago

Rented my sons cello from them for the school year. Very friendly and helpful.

Xiomara Choto-Mueller
Xiomara Choto-Mueller
5
2 days ago

This shop has the nicest people that are super helpful. The instruments are beautiful and sound amazing. They have instruments for beginners to advanced musicians. I would definitely recommend buying or renting from them!

Crystal Johnson
Crystal Johnson
5
2 days ago

I would highly recommend this place if you are looking for a new violin, or if you have a violin that needs repairs or adjustments. I was recently looking for a new violin and they had a really great selection in my price range. Ultimately I ended up purchasing elsewhere, but the runner up was from Kerr's. However, the violin I purchased from another shop had some minor issues and things I didn't like and I ended up taking it to Kerr's for some adjustments. Their staff really knows what they are doing and they are friendly and helpful. They are also super efficient. If I ever need help with my violin or bow in the future I will be taking it here.

Heather Fleischer
Heather Fleischer
1
2 days ago

I just needed help with re-stringing my violin (it had been in storage for 1.5yrs, and even though it was climate-controlled it needed some help). The associate was extremely nice, re-strung and tuned my violin even though it was rather difficult, and only charged me the (low) cost of the one new string I needed! She even spelled my name correctly, which was rather shocking and amazing all by itself, lol. There was another customer there buying a violin for a young girl and the associate helping them was very nice, too. Edit: This is still my go-to place for any violin needs. I purchase my strings here, and they've also helped me with new feet for my Kun shoulder rest, and today I bought a new chin rest. Always friendly, helpful, attentive service that goes above and beyond. Just the best. My instructors recommend it and shop here, too.

Victoria Miller
Victoria Miller
5
2 days ago

I went here to get fine tuners put on my violin. They were so helpful and the service was very inexpensive. I will definitely be back for any other adjustments I need.

Kwang Kim
Kwang Kim
5
2 days ago

I have been a regular for about 30 years. David is always very kind & attentive to his customers. I have never been dissatisfied with services. Highly recommend



People Also View

  • Robertson & Sons Violin Shop
    0.5
    10 reviews
  • Blackerby Violin Shop
    0.5
    10 reviews
  • Lisle Violin Shop
    0.5
    10 reviews
  • Reuning & Son Violins
    0.5
    10 reviews
  • Cremona Violin Makers and Dealers
    0.5
    10 reviews
  • David Kerr Violin Shop
    0.4
    10 reviews
  • Robert Cauer Violins
    0.5
    9 reviews
  • Rafael Carrabba Violins Inc
    0.7
    7 reviews
  • Gliga Violins USA, Inc
    1.2
    4 reviews
  • Guadagnini Violin Shop
    5
    1 review