Jess & Jim's Steakhouse

Jess & Jim's Steakhouse

(10 reviews)
#95 in USA #12 in Kansas
Foodie Delight
  • 517 East 135th Street, Kansas City, Missouri 64145
Claim Listing

Company Description

Jess and Jim’s Steak House opened for business in April of 1938, by two men who were best of friends. Jess Kincaid and Jim Wright started their business at 135th & Holmes as a small bar and grill, until the tornado in 1957 moved them to their present location.

Review & Rating

Clint Pope
Clint Pope
3
2 days ago

Nice service. Potato was good but steak not so good. I was expecting a good steak for 40.00. I won't be going back

Michael McDermot
Michael McDermot
4
2 days ago

Reasonable steak house with longevity and history. They understand how to cook a steak to order. Worth a try!

Shea Johnsto
Shea Johnsto
4
2 days ago

Had a very nice dinner outside on the patio. Food was really good. The fried cauliflower was in fact the best I've ever had!! Will definitely go back, enjoyed it!

Kayne Phillips
Kayne Phillips
3
2 days ago

Gizzards were pretty good if a little too tough. Steak was just tough. Had 16oz ribeye that was cooked as ordered but the meat had little to no marbling and was not very flavorful, hard to make a poor cut of meat into a good steak. Not a meal i would return for.

Mayleen Hadley
Mayleen Hadley
5
2 days ago

Our first time there. We are there for lunch and it was over all great experience. I love the cozy warm comfortable atmosphere. Customer service was great and food is amazing 💛

Steven Myers
Steven Myers
5
2 days ago

I just stopped here for lunch and it was rather refreshing to have a burger that was made order and tasted fresh along with the fries. I would definitely come back for dinner if I'm in town. The service was also very attentive

Matthew Wurtz
Matthew Wurtz
5
2 days ago

Love this place and have been going for many years. Their cheeseburgers are Amazing, as well as their prime rib French dip sandwiches. Excellent service, staff and priced very reasonably for the quality.

Angela Pitts
Angela Pitts
3
2 days ago

Went out for dinner with some friends and we decided a nice steak sounded good so we picked Jess and Jim's. The server was very good and attentive but the food left much to be desired. I asked to have my steak seasoned but I couldn't taste any seasoning. My friend ordered her steak medium rare and the first time they brought it out, it was well done. The second time it was barely warm on the outside and bloody inside. They finally brought her a prime rib and it was done right. Since it took so long for her to get her meal, the 3 off is were finished eating by the time she got her steak. When it was time to pay, they acted like they were doing her a favor by not charging her the extra for the prime rib over the sirloin. "We won't charge you the extra $11.00 this time" Personally I felt like they should have not charged her at all. I felt like I would have had a better experience at Texas Roadhouse and would have spent a lot less money

Teresa Kraf
Teresa Kraf
4
2 days ago

An old KC family-run steak restaurant. The steaks we're fabulous! Fork tender. The twice baked potato was enormous and delicious. Salads we're pretty drab but adequate. Good service. My tea glass was kept full. Delicious meal out with friends.

Edward Straley
Edward Straley
3
2 days ago

We went there because it was rated one of the top 10 Steak Restaurants in US. We drove 20 miles from the Plaza. Service Excellent. Food OK, not top 10. Had Rib Eye 16 oz steak, tender but lacked flavor. Twice baked potato good but room temperature. Calvin Twillin might have put this place on his Playboy column in 1972 as the best in the US, but he needs to revisit.



People also viewed

  • Steak 44
    10 reviews
  • Riscky's Steakhouse
    10 reviews
  • Jim's Steaks
    11 reviews
  • LB Steak
    10 reviews
  • The Best Steak House
    10 reviews
  • Saltgrass Steak House
    10 reviews
  • Little Alley Steak
    10 reviews
  • Chicago Cut Steakhouse
    10 reviews
  • Jess & Jim's Steakhouse
    10 reviews
  • Linda's La Cantina Steak House