Saltgrass Steak House

(10 reviews)
Foodie Delight
  • 502 Riverwalk, San Antonio, TX 78205
Claim Listing

Company Description

Our story dates back to the 1800s when millions of Longhorns roamed freely throughout Texas. With the taste for beef becoming a newfound favorite in the North, Texas ranchers prospered as never before. Each winter, the Longhorn were driven to the Texas Gulf Coast to graze on the rich coastal salt grass. And when they headed for market, they followed the legendary Salt Grass Trail, known far and wide for creating the best beef in the Lone Star State.

Review & Rating

Sarah Meza
Sarah Meza
5
2 days ago

This was our first time here I ordered (cant remeber the name ) but it was salmon topped with cod over fried asparagus. I paired it with loaded mashed potatoes and rice. It was the best dish ive ever had. My husband had some kind of steak with grilled mushrooms and onions which was also very good. I would definitely recommend this place to others. Everyone is VERY friendly and helpful

Jonathan Barth
Jonathan Barth
5
2 days ago

Food was fantastic, but that’s always been my experience at Saltgrass. What made this visit exceptional was the service ( Mercy ) our waitress she went above and beyond to make our dinner on our anniversary trip perfect! My wife has a gluten allergy and Mercy was knowledgeable and very attentive to every detail! Even got us gluten free bread for an appetizer. 5 stars! Give that lady a raise.

Rhonda Gonzalez
Rhonda Gonzalez
5
2 days ago

Stopped here with my Airman and family. Great experience. Steaks were made perfectly. Server was attentive and courteous.

Miranda Mell
Miranda Mell
3
2 days ago

Good, but both steaks were drier than expected. For ~$30/steak, you'd expect they'd be better. Especially here in Texas! They also ran out of garlic potatoes, and instead of telling anyone, they gave everyone in our section (not just our party) fries! Otherwise, nice atmosphere and friendly servers.

Al Unruh
Al Unruh
5
2 days ago

Loved this place. Wait staff was great, food was amazing. I had a burger which was very good and cooked perfectly but other people in my party had steak and they loved it. My mom had the Potato soup and she thought it was to die for so 5 stars here.

Carol Haute
Carol Haute
5
2 days ago

Great service, just left this place the servers are great. Food is great. Just one thing if you cannot afford to eat there why come. A server literally served a table with 4 adults and 3 kids he also sang happy birthday to one their kids and they just walked out on him without paying. Who does that? So sad for this server he probably my has to pay that out of pocket I saw him so sad afterwards.

James Semank
James Semank
5
2 days ago

Honestly one of the best meals I have had during my visit to San Antonio. People were extremely nice, accidentally forgot to tell them I cannot eat blue cheese and they happily replaced my salad. The manager came over and had a friendly conversation with us about the meal and how our visit to San Antonio was, asked what we would most remember about our visit... The whole experience was like having dinner at a friend's house! Highly recommend The Saltgrass to anyone visiting the Riverwalk!

Anna Jasmine Guaderram
Anna Jasmine Guaderram
5
2 days ago

First time going here, not going to lie was not expecting a $30 meal. However, I have no regrets. Very friendly staff! I ordered a steak, some fried shrimp, steak fries, and a house salad & everything was absolutely DELICIOUS. Steak was cooked to perfection, super juicy and extremely flavorful but not overpowering. Overall, had an amazing experience, definitely plan on coming here again in the future!!

Kevin Jones
Kevin Jones
1
2 days ago

Not to fault the waitress, but the food service was terrible. First we waited for a good 20min for our bar drinks and salads. One of the drinks was wrong to start out. Then another 25-30min for our food to come out. My coworkers food was good but my medium rare steak was definitely medium well to well done. The topping for the steak was also nowhere to be be found. Very disappointing for a steak house. Won't be coming back. The attention to detail is very much lacking from this establishment.

Adriana Martine
Adriana Martine
5
2 days ago

The location was great as it was right off the river walk. This was the first time I went to Saltgrass and it did not disappoint. The prices were a little bit more on the pricier side for me but the food was delicious. We arrived a little after it opened so thankfully it wasn't busy yet. The service was great and we received our food pretty quickly. If I ever visit San Antonio again, I will definitely come to this Saltgrass location again!



People Also View

  • Steak 44
    0.5
    10 reviews
  • Riscky's Steakhouse
    0.5
    10 reviews
  • Jim's Steaks
    0.4
    11 reviews
  • LB Steak
    0.5
    10 reviews
  • The Best Steak House
    0.4
    10 reviews
  • Saltgrass Steak House
    0.4
    10 reviews
  • Little Alley Steak
    0.4
    10 reviews
  • Chicago Cut Steakhouse
    0.4
    10 reviews
  • Jess & Jim's Steakhouse
    0.4
    10 reviews
  • Linda's La Cantina Steak House