Kalachandji's Restaurant

(10 reviews)
Restaurant
  • 5430 Gurley Ave, Dallas, TX 75223 USA
Claim Listing

Company Description

Welcome to Kalachandji's,  Dallas' longest serving vegetarian restaurant.  For 35 years we have been providing DFW diners with a taste of India's vast and ancient vegetarian tradition.  We practice the timeless Ayurvedic art of cooking for the body, mind and spirit, and all our dishes are prepared with the best ingredients available.

Review & Rating

Roc R
Roc R
5
2 days ago

Always an experience eating here. The food is very fresh and cooked with mild spices. The seating area in the courtyard was an amazing experience, they do have live music every now and then. There is always a line out the door every time I have been there. I also loved the tamarind drink and their salad bar. Both dinner and lunch are buffet style, with a few more dishes and an appetizer for dinner. The down side yo this place is that they do not offer any Indian bread, instead they offer regular American bread which does not go well with Indian entrees. Also, for the dessert, although included in the buffet, you will have to order individually and comes in a small portion and I believe there are no refills. I highly recommend this place If you are a vegan or a vegetarian that loves Indian food.

Shweta Harve
Shweta Harve
5
2 days ago

Definitely a class apart in taste, quality, ambiance, and experience. Very healthy yet delicious food. Other traditional Indian restaurants in town can take a lesson or two from this place on how to serve non-greasy, healthy, yet mouth watering food showcasing the best of Indian cuisine. Would eat here at every single opportunity given. Just wish I stayed or worked closer to this restaurant.

Tony Ponce
Tony Ponce
5
2 days ago

Tried this spot before with a friend and I am obsessed since then. I enjoy the good atmosphere and yummy dishes and beverages. I recommend this place.

Brandon Benitez
Brandon Benitez
5
2 days ago

Great first time eating here at Kalachandji’s. Small hidden gem in Dallas serving some of the best Indian food. Never was a big fan of Indian but this place made me a believer. It’s buffet style so eat your heart out. Try everything and try more and try more. Their cinnamon bread was sooo good. I don’t know what it was but it look like lasagna and taste like pizza. This place is a must so give it a try. Enjoy my foodie connoisseurs!

Sam Moore
Sam Moore
4
2 days ago

We came here on a lark tonight looking for a vegitarian dinner. This place is a buffet. It is good. All you can eat for about $15 bucks. Even the enchiladas we're good. There is a respectable salad bar. The green curry and paneer were excellent. Dinner comes with dessert as well. The courtyard is an intimate setting and the wait staff is friendly and not burdensome. Excellent Dallas gem.

Adithi Jagannadhan
Adithi Jagannadhan
4
2 days ago

I went here on a whim after arriving in Dallas as a tourist. The neighborhood when driving in is quite sketchy but as long as you're driving you should be fine. The food was very authentic vegetarian food. The servers were nice. We also decided to go pray at the hindu temple also there. The temple itself has an interesting story behind it if you take the time to look it up.

Olivia Brasel
Olivia Brasel
5
2 days ago

One of the very best places in Dallas. The food is delicious, the staff so wonderful and kind, and the atmosphere is serene. My number one spot when I want to unwind and catch up with a friend

AphyNGodiva
AphyNGodiva
5
2 days ago

Best place for Indian/vegetarian food hands down! I'm a hardcore meat eater, love my beef, but I absolutely wouldn't mind never eating a steak again if it meant eating food like what is served here every day! My absolute favorite is their bitter melon, it tastes like roasted pumpkin seeds to me, which are also my absolute favorite! I also really love their cinnamon bread, the subtle sweetness really hits the spot! They offer tamarind tea (dark colored drink) it tastes like lemonade and is super delicious. Also the desserts are to die for, they are also vegetarian/vegan, they offer two or three that are free (rice pudding, halwa, and ginger cookie) and then one or more additional "for sale" options which I actually prefer, they are worth the extra money, especially if you are a chocolate lover! My all time favorite was a vegan chocolate cupcake with a vegan raspberry whipped icing.

Ashley Lat-ay
Ashley Lat-ay
5
2 days ago

Great vegetarian place, all buffet style. The restaurant area is absolutely stunning. Just keep in mind that the restaurant is next to the temple room where the regular patrons worship, so please be respectful. The staff is super kind and welcoming.

MKB
MKB
3
2 days ago

Vegetarian buffet Indian style. Pleasant vibes and good array of food options. Flavor and spice just right. Good price for a full meal with desserts(vegan brownie). Love being on the outside part, the breeze was perfect. The set-up was a little congested but only because it was noon. However, certainly historic.



People Also View

  • Veggie Galaxy
    0.5
    10 reviews
  • Sunflower Cafe
    0.5
    10 reviews
  • Soul Vegetarian Restaurant No.2
    0.4
    11 reviews
  • Watercourse Foods
    0.5
    10 reviews
  • Crossroads Kitchen
    0.5
    10 reviews
  • Kalachandji's Restaurant
    0.5
    10 reviews
  • Govinda's Vegetarian Cuisine
    0.4
    11 reviews
  • Green Vegetarian Cuisine
    0.5
    10 reviews
  • Original Soul Vegetarian
    0.4
    10 reviews
  • Bouldin Creek Cafe
    0.4
    10 reviews