Davis Imperial Cleaners

(11 reviews)
Wedding Gown Preservation
  • 3325 West Bryn Mawr Avenue, Chicago, Illinois 60659
Claim Listing

Company Description

Finding a dry cleaner to properly clean and finish a quality garment has become a tremendous frustration to most individuals. Davis Imperial Cleaners was founded by our parents, Leona and Bernard Davis, whose Old World vision of quality, uncompromising attention to detail, and specialized services have been vigilantly preserved. For over 50 years, our family has been dedicated to providing extraordinary care for fine garments and fabrics, along with premier service to our clientele.

Review & Rating

Amber Flores
Amber Flores
5
2 days ago

Davis imperial did my wedding dress alterations. They were fantastic! My dress was perfect so all I needed was a bustle and a small alteration on the top of the dress. They are very professional and know so much about dresses. She helped my maid of honor corset and bustle my dress. When I picked it up they provided me with an emergency kit that included, buttons, beads, sequins, pins, band aids, safety pins, a sewing kit, potpourri, double stick garment tape, and a spot cleaner! What a nice surprise! They are a little pricey, but totally worth it. I would definitely recommend their services!

Anados Defered
Anados Defered
5
2 days ago

Davis Imperial Cleaners has been the quintessential North side dry cleaners for years. I learned from his wife who just happened to be in the store that day after retiring to Florida that the original owner died over ten years ago so the ownership is not the same as it was, only daughter Linda is what's left of three generations.They are located on Bryn Mawr and Christiana just a block east of Kimball. Parking is a pain, Bryn Mawr is one lane each way, and it is right next to Peterson Elementary School so you know when it will be busy. There is no place better for cleaning down: coats like the old Eddie Bauer, bedding like comforters from Comfortably Yours. Fine sweaters like those of Adrienne Vitadini. Fur. Leather. Suede. Draperies. Any finery of quality, delicacy - things that others may decline - or say they don't have the facilities. Elegant wedding dresses. Fabric restoration. Also shirts, pants, sweaters. They are costly, make no mistake. You can find cheaper, yes. Not better. Pickup and delivery availability. Small towns like Ithaca lack facilities like these, so nationwide shipping via Fabricarebymail™ saves the day. There is disaster relief but only if there is a short delay. Don't let things go. To preserve what you value, there is a place - at a cost. Trust Davis.

DANIEL GOODWIN
DANIEL GOODWIN
1
2 days ago

I have just one experience using this cleaner, two garments, both of which I dropped off and picked up myself - a down filled Canada Goose winter coat and a men’s blazer. I selected this cleaner from a list specified by Canada Goose themselves and after reviewing Davis’ website, then going to the cleaners myself to talk with them about the processes they would use, as I wanted a VERY good job done... what else could one do to make sure nothing went wrong? The blazer cost $17 to clean, and came back looking fine. The Canada Goose cost cost over $100 to clean, and is faded. I had discussed this concern with the person at the counter who helped me, and was assured no problem. I was disappointed to see the coat had faded when I picked it up, and spoke with the person at the counter to ask what processes they used to clean the coat to verify what they’d done. He was not sure, went in the back to research, and came back saying the shell had been dry cleaned and that fading happens with their dry cleaning. Also told me about the loss of water repellancy that had resulted from the cleaning and that there was an extra service I could pay for to have the coat treated and that retained. I’d liked to have been told about that and the significant fading before I waited five days and spent over $100 to have this coat degraded so significantly by them by surprise. I did express my discontent with the results, and was not offered any concession. Maybe I just had false hopes a $100+ cleaning would not permanently fade out a coat and ruin its water repellant properties? I took my two garments without asserting anything, and very disappointed my sharp coat was so diminished. I will absolutely not be able to trust this place with any garment for cleaning as a result.

julie fehrenbacher
julie fehrenbacher
5
2 days ago

This cleaner is the best for all your nicest clothes.

Deanne Davies
Deanne Davies
5
2 days ago

My experience here is positive. Good prices and the clothes come back when they promise. I like efficiency.

Paige Baugnet
Paige Baugnet
5
2 days ago

I went to Davis on a recommendation from BHLDN, where I got my wedding dress. They were fantastic to work with. Every step of the way, they were friendly and professional, and I always left my appointments feeling confident. My dress was intricate lace, form fitting, the whole nine yards and by my wedding day it fit like a glove. Bonus: plenty of street parking :)

Matt Jackson
Matt Jackson
5
2 days ago

The staff at Davis Imperial is top notch & the service just as good. #1 in Chicago. Give them a try and you will not regret it.

Eric Pyne
Eric Pyne
5
2 days ago

I had an issue with a vintage wedding gown and Jordan @ Davis Imperial, after tapping into his vast industry network, was able to find an exact fabric match for a garment that was well over 50 years old. It was a remarkable feat and the alteration/restoration was absolutely perfect.

Lisa Fetman
Lisa Fetman
5
2 days ago

Wow! What a find. This place is THE BEST. I wore separates for my wedding day: an intricately beaded bodysuit and seven layer skirt...needless to say, they had their work cut out for them (not to mention me losing ten pounds between my first consultation and final fitting). I am beyond impressed with how perfectly and efficiently the Davis team altered my attire, and even added extras like hidden hooks to ensure the bodysuit stayed attached to the skirt, and a ribbon. At the last minute I opted to purchase a miniskirt to change into during my reception, and they did some minor alterations to that at no additional charge. I live out of state but my wedding was in Chicago, so they were really great at working with me to ensure I had proper fittings when I was in town. On top of everything, they delivered my dress to the wedding venue 24 hours before the wedding, and it included an emergency kit just in case. My dress turned out PERFECTLY and I am incredibly happy with the choice to work with them. Look no further than Davis for your alterations!

Hannah Basil
Hannah Basil
5
2 days ago

Davis Cleaners did the alterations for my wedding dress. Davis came highly recommended from the Glamour Closet, where I purchased my dress. I had a great consultation, multiple fittings and the service was always great. At the final fitting we realized I lost more weight than expected and we had to take the dress in just a days before the wedding. Instead of that making me nervous Davis helped calm me and ensure this would keep the strapless gown from falling. It was a perfect fit!

m dun89
m dun89
5
2 days ago

I bought a sample wedding dress, and was so happy to have Davis Imperial Cleaners on my team to make it absolute perfection for the wedding. They had to replace the illusion top, and went through 4 different fabrics to make sure they picked THE perfect material. I never felt so beautiful, and while yes it was on the pricey side, you get what you pay for. They were meticulous and made sure it was perfect before they gave it back to me. If you want to be stress free about your dress, this is the place to hire.



People Also View

  • Affordable Preservation Company
    0.4
    12 reviews
  • Dependable Cleaners
    0.5
    11 reviews
  • Davis Imperial Cleaners
    0.4
    11 reviews
  • Henries Dry Cleaners
    0.5
    10 reviews
  • Custom Care Cleaners
    0.5
    10 reviews
  • Concord Cleaners
    0.4
    10 reviews
  • Crystal Blue Dry Cleaners
    0.4
    11 reviews
  • Arrow Fabricare Services
    0.4
    10 reviews
  • Five Star Professional Cleaners Atl
    0.4
    10 reviews
  • Signature Dry Cleaner
    0.7
    7 reviews