SCAD - The University for Creative Careers

SCAD - The University for Creative Careers

(11 reviews)
#88 in USA #46 in Atlanta
Design
  • P.O. Box 77300 Atlanta, GA
Claim Listing

Company Description

The Savannah College of Art and Design, an institution with distinctive yet complementary locations, will be recognized as the leader in defining art and design education. By employing innovation in all areas, SCAD will provide a superior education through talented and dedicated faculty and staff, leading-edge technology, advanced learning resources and comprehensive support services.

Review & Rating

Kyle Henderson
Kyle Henderson
5
2 days ago

The facilities, libraries, and available equipment are world class, there are some great professors here, unfortunately the administration (which behaves like a corporate entity) hinders good departments from doing great things. While attending I found that the school did a very poor job at promoting public events (talks, student exhibitions, etc.) to members of the public. SCAD also tends to be homophobic in regards to what it hangs on the wall in favor of not wanting to "offend" any visitors that may have religious beliefs. Illustrated nudity is ok, photographic nudity is not. SCAD is supposedly a dry campus, however during special events (open studio, film fest, etc.) VIP guest will be given drinks, wine, beer, but an adult student of age, shelling out a couple of grand every 10 weeks for tuition won't be given anything.

Rebecca E. Stowe
Rebecca E. Stowe
5
2 days ago

Coming to SCAD was probably one of the best decisions I've made. Yes it is expensive and is very different from other universities you might see in your communities but it's definitely worth it. I've had the great opportunity to work alongside and be taught by professors who have years in the industry I'm hoping to join and have made connections with students and professionals from around the world in and out of my field of study. In just 3 short years Savannah has become a home away from home and SCAD has only influenced that in the best way possible.

Brandon Karcher
Brandon Karcher
5
2 days ago

Coming to SCAD was the best decision I have ever made in my educational endeavors. The school is a private, non-profit university which means that it's student centric. Classroom sizes are small and the highly qualified instructors will remember your name years after you have taken their class. All of my instructors have worked professionally in the animation industry at top studios like Disney, Dreamworks, Blue Sky, Pixar, and Sony to name a few. My work and understanding as an artist has reached heights I never thought was possible. You will work very hard at this school. I love SCAD and everyone who goes here loves it too.

Kelly Roberts Flores
Kelly Roberts Flores
4
2 days ago

I'm confused by the rhetoric between people on Facebook who seem to not have actually visited the school. I visited SCAD while on a girls trip to Savannah to look at it for my daughter. While it may not have the feel of a major state university, it seemed like a good school, certainly similar to my alma mater. One thing I loved was how integrated it is in the town of Savannah. It is almost as if they give the students the run of the town. They put on shows in the theatre, paint murals, decorate and have galleries downtown. Overall, I was rather impressed. Yes, it is expensive, but that is more a problem we have as a country, higher education in general is getting out of reach for most people.

Padath D Ilip
Padath D Ilip
4
2 days ago

Hello !!! I am applying for MFA in luxury and fashion management and would really like to hear from studnets in this field about their experience so far. Also , hoping to connect with some alumni who could answer some questions for me? Any help regarding this would be great, thank you!

Meagan Cox
Meagan Cox
5
2 days ago

I've been an online student for the past two years after transferring from another school. I'm finishing my degree in March and I have learned so much. 90% of my professors have been there for me every step of the way. I had no issues. My advisor is also always there to help with any questions. I've used the job portal to get an amazing internship in NYC, and the owners of that design firm loved that I was a SCAD student. It's very hard work to be an Elearning student, but you get what you put in! And for everyone who says this is a scam, I can't say for the campus professors/administration, but college is a business. Yes they charge you money and yes it's a lot. Any school does this. It's how this business works. If you've taken a class, they won't just give you your money back if you weren't happy? That's not how colleges work. I've never had an issue and I feel I've exhausted the help and information I was given here, so again, you get what you put into it. How is a review based on one professor, bus driver, etc. actions relevant to an entire school and program? Again, I have always had amazing professors in the online program. There is so much career advising and resources for during and after school. Do what is right for you, and at this school, if you put your all into it, you will get it back! Remember, unhappy people will always be the ones to leave reviews. And is a Facebook review really what you're going to base your college investment on? Find what fits you, your goals, and your situation.

Gabriel Daniels
Gabriel Daniels
1
2 days ago

Professor cancel class to go to a wedding then required you to show up on your day off (Friday)not caring that you have work and mark you absence. I then switch to on line the Professor mistakenly marks me absent I ask for it to be corrected as I show proof that I shouldn’t be marked absent. Response oh it won’t effect your grade. Contact Advisor response was the professors have complete control over attendance. I stop going to school threw frustration. Wife convinced me to go back. So I do,I have to quit my job to take a required class for graduation. They then drop the class after I payed and received my books. So now I have no job will not graduate in time to land a job in August. Also the VA will not pay me at a full time rate because I will not have 15 hrs. On top of that I just had twins which pushed my household to 5 people. I have a mortgage and two cars to pay for. How considerate of you SCAD. If anyone can see this I would recommend that you not attend this school unless mom and pops are paying your way.

Laura Grieve
Laura Grieve
5
2 days ago

Best time of my life, insanely talented students and teachers. They accept quite a few, but only the best graduate from here. When I went you had to have a 3.0 to graduate. It only went to 4.0 back then � -2003 Savannah SCAD graduate.

Santiago Vivanco
Santiago Vivanco
5
2 days ago

Hello there. SCAD is creative school spread all around the city with victorian architecture filled with people from all over, dogs, parks, spanish moss, southern cuisine, shops, rivers and books. I still remember the day I noticed I sat in the same bench where actor Tom Hanks shot Forrest Gump. In plain words is the place where creativity meets magic.

Briana Rose Greika
Briana Rose Greika
5
2 days ago

My dream school! They truly support their students and help them to succeed. Numerous resources are available on campus and online, professors are encouraging and readily available...I couldn’t imagine a better school to graduate from if you’re an artist of any kind. I’m so thankful for SCAD!

Leön Alexändrä
Leön Alexändrä
1
2 days ago

I been trying to contact them, this college sucks because it has poor/ crappy communication . I really wanted to go to the school and take a master degree, but after seeing your lack of communication I decided just check out other options. Beware , I contacted them by Facebook messenger, email , website for more than one week , And there’s been no answer. So if you plan to go to the school just know that there’s gonna be no communication at all and you have to figure out how you’re going to work it out , Specially if you’re looking to get a message from them if you have a problem in your bachelors degree or whatever on e-learning



People also viewed

  • Otis College of Art and Design
    20 reviews
  • Alis Fashion Design LLC
    11 reviews
  • Austin School Of Fashion Design
    10 reviews
  • Maryland Institute College of Art
    10 reviews
  • Georgia Institute of Technology
    10 reviews
  • Fashion Institute of South Florida
    10 reviews
  • Minneapolis College of Art and Design
    11 reviews
  • Clark Atlanta University
    11 reviews
  • SCAD - The University for Creative Careers
    11 reviews
  • Brenau University
    10 reviews