School of Art + Art History + Design University of Washington

School of Art + Art History + Design University of Washington

(11 reviews)
#37 in Seattle
Design
  • Box 353440, Seattle, WA 98195-3440
Claim Listing

Company Description

The UW is one of the world’s preeminent public universities. Our impact on individuals, our region and the world is profound — whether we are launching young people into a boundless future or confronting the grand challenges of our time through undaunted research and scholarship. Ranked No. 14 in the world on the 2018 Academic Ranking of World Universities, the UW educates more than 54,000 students annually. We turn ideas into impact and transform lives and our world. For more about our impact, visit our news site, UW News.

Review & Rating

M'lissa Wetherell
M'lissa Wetherell
2
2 days ago

Hosting racists & Nazis to speak on campus as a sign of "equality" and "exchange of ideas" is pretty disgusting. Doing it during this month (black history month) and cancelling black history events in favor of Nazis speaking is supporting aggression against people of color and reveals a lot about the lack of options the current administration has.

Nora Gause
Nora Gause
1
2 days ago

Cancelling Black History Month events because you're hosting white supremacists and the safety of students might be at risk? UW, you're better than this. You need to do better by your students, staff, faculty, and communities.

Susan Van Pelt
Susan Van Pelt
1
2 days ago

Once again, liberal institutions fail to prevent the rise of, and system capture by, fascists. And at the same time, the administration fails to protect Black people and organizations.That UW would withdraw support for Black History Month events in order that racists might rally under the guise of a prayer meeting is beyond shameful. The "deplorables" hold establishment power; those hosting the rally deserve a stronger and more precise word: fascists.

Paul Justham
Paul Justham
1
2 days ago

While, by definition, a university should *inform* its students about all points of view, not all points of view are equally demonstrable, valid, nor worthy of promulgation. No respectable medical school would endorse the "humours" theory nor advocate bleeding as a panacea. No reputable geology department would sponsor speakers supporting a 6000 year old flat earth. And no reputable, respectable institution gives preference to racial supremacists over events designed to educate about the long ignored and suppressed history of an entire segment of humanity. A university needs to be inquisitive, but society tasks you with *advancing* knowledge and civilization, not giving a forum to ignorance, bigotry, fear and agents provocateurs. To cancel Black History events because you know the group you are hosting is dangerous to students of color shows where your loyalties lie. "Can a man take fire in his bosom and not be burned?" "When you dance with the devil, the devil doesn't change. The devil changes you." #InstitutionalRacism

Kyle Nicholas
Kyle Nicholas
5
2 days ago

One of the top universities in the world. Gorgeous campus scenery and a very intellectually stimulating environment are added bonus!

Kerijin Carnessali
Kerijin Carnessali
1
2 days ago

Forcing black history month events to be cancelled so that they won't conflict with the hate rally? per what i am reading .... "President Cauce’s administration has been working with the campus GOP for a month to plan an event that is considered to be unsafe for Black students to be near. As a result, a #BlackHistoryMonth event for Washington state Black students, Young, Gifted and Black, has been cancelled. To ensure the GOP event can go on."

Phetmalay Ago
Phetmalay Ago
2
2 days ago

No air conditioning or fan for the graduation ceremony. Gift shop sold out of cold water before the ceremony started. Dying hot in here �

Steve Janss
Steve Janss
1
2 days ago

I think the University of Washington needs to reassess the fact that they not only live in the United States of America, but has risen to established status in large part by virtue of the means and principles upon which our nation was founded, including both the freedom of expression as well as the ability to freely practice one's religion, both of which are expressly protected by the First Amendment to our United States Constitution. I the school's governing body absolutely MUST address the fact that denying even basic Constitutional rights and freedoms in our society is a very dark path down which no American should ever go. In fact, I just finished asking my Congressman to look into whether or not the University of Washington's federal funding status should be pulled on account of their decidedly anti-American beliefs as clearly evidenced by this report. Furthermore, if you're a parent, you should seriously reconsider whether you really want your son or daughter to attend a school that suspends teachers who honestly and accurately answer questions put to them by their students.

Thomas LaGrelius
Thomas LaGrelius
5
2 days ago

Beautiful. I remember well how thrilled I was to walk across our beautiful campus for the first time. When I visit it still gives me a thrill. A BS in Zoology and an MD from the UW allowed me to see many times the explosion of beauty with those cherry blossoms.

Spring Daisy
Spring Daisy
2
2 days ago

UW is a great school but not for disabled students aiming for a degree in STEM careers. It is the worst on the Seattle campus. The math prerequisites for engineering and computer science are very difficult for most students due to the revolving professors that extend limited support. For disabled students that truly depend on accommodations to succeed in “normal supportive” scenarios, the hardship is exacerbated to the point of forcing these students to find alternative degree goals, other UW campuses that are more focused on a student’s success, other schools, expensive tutoring etc - even if they are gifted. The sabotaging-like experience comes from professors in math courses that refuse (and are allowed to refuse) to provide consistent course plans, online resources and videotaped lectures. It forces disabled students to depend on study groups that are not always possible or accessible due to disability and illness conditions. Because math course professors are not announced prior to classes starting, there is no way to choose professors that might have slightly better established resources such as websites and notes and recordings. UW limits online course to approved colleges that don’t offer the alternate classes. The Seattle campus administrators in multiple roles acknowledge, when forced to, that its professors are there to do research and not to teach - and when it comes to the final feedback - the message is that the student cannot expect much else from them. There is no standard level of accessibility for outlines and homework and online support that these math professors must adhere to. There is only the barest interpretation of the law and the department chooses to interpret with a selfish perspective. This is ironic considering that UW seattle hosts a DO IT facility on its campus that has 100’s of thousands of dollars in NSF grant money to further standards and success of disabled students in STEM nationwide. There is no cooperation, without interest from the Math program leaders. The new Provost is likely unaware. Sad for a university that is so proud of being a leader in STEM but not for its disabled students. They are invisible.

David Olsen
David Olsen
5
2 days ago

As an undergrad alumnus and current UW medical student, I can assure you that the University of Washington is one of the most progressive schools on the west coast, if not the entire country. Sometimes compromises are made in the interest of safety and appeasement of opposing viewpoints. I'm sure concessions will be made on occasion, but that doesn't change the fact that UW is educating and supporting countless students of color to be boundless and subvert the dominant paradigm from within.



People also viewed

  • Georgia Institute of Technology
    10 reviews
  • CLEVELAND INSTITUTE OF ART
    10 reviews
  • SCAD - The University for Creative Careers
    11 reviews
  • ArtCenter College of Design
    10 reviews
  • CALIFORNIA STATE UNIVERSITY LONG BEACH
    10 reviews
  • Academy of Art University
    10 reviews
  • California College of the Arts
    10 reviews
  • School of Art + Art History + Design University of Washington
    11 reviews
  • Atlanta Technical College
    12 reviews
  • Ashworth College
    10 reviews