University Bicycles

University Bicycles

(11 reviews)
#79 in USA #2 in Boulder
New Bikes
  • 839 Pearl Street, Boulder, CO 80302
Claim Listing

Company Description

Doug opened University Bicycles in March 1985. He secured a small basement location on the west end of Pearl Street in Boulder, Colorado and began to rent and repair anything he could. The business grew rapidly and within eight months moved to the location at 9th and Pearl, where it resides today.

Review & Rating

Kammi McChesney
Kammi McChesney
5
2 days ago

Purchased my first bike I've owned in over 10 years from University Bikes yesterday and am so excited about it! Trevor was so incredibly nice, knowledgeable, helpful, and patient with helping me find my perfect bike-match. Then, when I was outside taking a bike for a test-spin, the owner overheard me talking about my confusion with the bike gears and he was kind enough to offer his advice too! This place, and their team, is the best!

Terrence Healy
Terrence Healy
5
2 days ago

Staff was friendly and enthusiastic. Service was exceptional and prompt. Fixed a tricky bottom bracket/chainline issue on my '80s era MTB, and did it right!

david fegan
david fegan
5
2 days ago

I've been to a LOT of bike shops, and University Bikes in Boulder has by far the best customer-service I've ever experienced. My girlfriend and I showed up 5 minutes before they close looking to buy her a new mountain bike. the entire staff was super welcoming and didn't rush us at all even though we ended up being there about 30 minutes after their closing time. they didn't pressure us to buy anything, and were extremely patient. Big thanks to Dan, Matt, and Lester who helped my girlfriend find a bike she loves at an unbeatable price.

nick blossfeld
nick blossfeld
5
2 days ago

Fantastic people, know exactly what's the problem just from descriptions alone. They even will negate charges for things that were defective or sub-par to their standard. Overall extraordinary bike shop and probably the pinnacle in Boulder. Tip: Make sure you have a general idea of what's wrong going in, you don't need to be some bike guru but it definitely helps to recognize the problem.

Marcelo Medina
Marcelo Medina
5
2 days ago

The largest and most complete bike store I have ever seen. Such a paradise!

Rich Feit
Rich Feit
5
2 days ago

We we love this place and get all our bikes here. The staff is super friendly and knowledgeable, and they offer free and often instant adjustments for bikes bought there (especially great for kids' bikes).

Paul Givens
Paul Givens
5
2 days ago

Super helpful staff, top notch bike service

Sarah Holt
Sarah Holt
5
2 days ago

My husband and I just bought our bikes from here. It was a great experience and the person helping us was incredibly patient while we test drove several bikes and asked a million questions. Then yesterday when we were switching out bike seats something on the bike didn’t seem right so we stopped in with it. They immediately took a look at it and fixed what we had tweaked. They were so knowledgeable and took the time to show my husband how to change out the pedals at home and exactly which tool to use. Everyone was so friendly and helpful! Cannot recommend highly enough.

UncleJ
UncleJ
5
2 days ago

The staff was very nice and helpful. Ben was great setting two bikes up for me to demo. The atmosphere was good.

Mike Zucarelli
Mike Zucarelli
5
2 days ago

This place is great! The fact that it says "friendly" on their website is no joke. It has a chill vibe. I'd draw a similarity to walking into an apple store when it's not busy....lots of people there to help you and they WANT to help you. I was in from out of town and just wanted to rent a bike a climb a hill while in the denver area. They hooked me up quick. Was in and out in a flash and made a flight home that night. The rental bike was really nice too. Definitely going to make a special trip soon just to see these guys and ride in Boulder again.

Jeffrey Magner
Jeffrey Magner
5
2 days ago

In my opinion this is the Best bike shop in Boulder. We've always brought our bikes in here for service over the years. They are so genuinely eager to serve anyone who walks in the door. Great customer service. They've hooked us up with stroller flats multiple times. Great business. Thanks guys!



People also viewed

  • Hourglass Cycles
    21 reviews
  • Cycle Cave Inc
    12 reviews
  • Racer's Edge
    12 reviews
  • Revival Cycles
    11 reviews
  • woom bikes USA, LLC
    11 reviews
  • Alligator's Cycling Bicycle Shop
    11 reviews
  • TUNE Cycles
    11 reviews
  • University Bicycles
    11 reviews
  • Mellow Johnny's Bike Shop
    11 reviews
  • Race Pace Bicycles
    11 reviews